How to launch a ride-hailing app in a UK town: a 90-day plan
The short answer
To launch a ride-hailing app in a UK town, plan 90 days in three blocks. Days 1 to 30: form the company and apply for a private hire operator licence (Bristol says up to 4 weeks, TfL up to 16). Days 31 to 60: sign up drivers who already hold your council's licence and set prices, insurance and booking. Days 61 to 90: soft launch, then market and measure.

A ride service in a UK town is a private hire firm with an app on the front. You need the same licences as any minicab office, and you can't take a paid booking until your council grants them. This plan puts the steps to launch a ride-hailing app in the order that stops you paying for marketing before you're allowed to trade.
What has to happen before you can take a booking?
Before your first paid booking you need a private hire operator licence, and every car you send needs a licensed vehicle and a licensed driver. Section 46 of the Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1976 makes it an offence, outside London, to operate a private hire vehicle without an operator licence, or to send a car whose vehicle or driver isn't licensed.
Outside London, all three licences have to come from the same council. A 2024 report to City of York Council's licensing committee puts it plainly: case law says an operator may only dispatch vehicles and drivers licensed by the same authority as the operator. Councils call it the triple licensing rule. In London, all three come from TfL.
The licence also brings duties from day one. The Department for Transport's Statutory Taxi and Private Hire Vehicle Standards ask councils to require booking records with the passenger's name, the pickup, the destination, the driver, the vehicle and the staff who took and dispatched the job, and suggest keeping those records for at least 6 months. The standards also ask operators to show the council that they've seen a basic DBS check for everyone on their register of booking and dispatch staff. Our guide to private hire operator record keeping covers the detail.
How long do the licences and accounts take?
The operator licence is the long pole, and it differs a lot by council. Here are real figures from three licensing authorities and the other accounts you'll need:
| What | Example | Fee | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operator licence | Bristol City Council | £356 for 1 year, up to £1,058 for 5 years | Up to 4 weeks |
| Operator licence | BCP Council | £160 to apply, then £335 for up to 10 vehicles for 5 years | Not stated |
| Operator licence | TfL (London) | £2,000 over 5 years for 0 to 10 vehicles | Up to 16 weeks |
| PHV driver licence | TfL (London) | £138 to apply and £205 on grant, from 1 June 2026 | TfL warns new applications are taking longer than normal |
| PHV vehicle licence | BCP Council | £200 a year | Not stated |
| Limited company | Companies House | £100 online | Usually within 24 hours |
| Apple Developer Program | Apple | US$99 a year, shown in local currency when you enrol | An organisation needs a D-U-N-S number first |
| Google Play developer account | US$25 once | Verification depends on account type |
Fees and times change, and every council sets its own. Read your council's taxi licensing pages before you set a launch date, and treat the longest wait in the table as your real start date.
Days 1 to 30: the company, the licence and the paperwork
The first month is paperwork, and it decides everything after it. Do these in order:
- Pick your council. Outside London your drivers and cars must hold the same council's licences as your operator licence. So choose the council where licensed drivers already live and work. The DfT counted 196,600 licensed PHVs outside London on 1 April 2026, up 20% since 2024, so the pool exists, but each driver is tied to the council that licensed them.
- Form the company. Registering a limited company online costs £100 and is usually done within 24 hours. Apple wants a legal entity, a D-U-N-S number and a working website on your own domain before it lets an organisation publish apps, so start that now.
- Apply for the private hire operator licence. Bristol's list is a good example: a basic DBS check for each applicant (or each director and the company secretary), the list of intended drivers and vehicles, right-to-work evidence, safeguarding, complaints and training policies, a completed compliance checklist and an address inside the council's boundary.
- Pay the data protection fee to the ICO. You'll hold passengers' names, phone numbers and journeys. The ICO says organisations and sole traders that use personal information must pay the fee unless they're exempt.
- Talk to insurers. DfT best practice guidance says it's appropriate for councils to check that an operator has public liability insurance. Ask about that and about private hire insurance for each car at the same time. Our guide to insurance for a ride-hailing business explains the policies.
Days 31 to 60: drivers, prices and the booking system
The second month is where launches slip, because drivers take longer than software.
Drivers. Recruit drivers who already hold your council's private hire licence. A new driver starts from scratch: TfL, for example, wants applicants aged 21 or over with a driving licence held for at least 3 years, an enhanced DBS check, a Group 2 medical, a topographical skills assessment, an English speaking and listening assessment and a safety and regulations assessment. Our guide to recruiting drivers for a new ride app covers what drivers ask before they join.
On-demand or pre-booked. Instant pickups only work when enough drivers are logged in at once. With a small fleet, start with pre-booked work in a tight area and grow from there. Our guide to on-demand or pre-booked services sets out the trade-off.
Prices. Set fixed fares by zone for the routes people search: the station, the hospital, the airport, the next town. See fixed zone pricing.
The booking system. It has to write the booking records your licence conditions ask for, confirm each booking to the passenger and get the job to the driver. Dispatch AI is booking and dispatch software for taxi and private hire firms. It answers your phone, WhatsApp, texts and emails, books the jobs at your prices and sends them to your drivers on your own app. The phone agent and booking go live within 24 hours, often within two hours, and Apple and Google usually approve the driver app within one to two weeks.
The app store listing. Apple's App Review Guideline 4.2.6 rejects apps built from a commercial template unless they're submitted by the provider of the app's content. In practice a white-label app listed under your firm's name goes out from your own developer account. Our guide to publishing a taxi app on the App Store and Google Play walks through it.
Days 61 to 90: soft launch, marketing and measuring
Launch small, fix what breaks, then tell people. A soft launch of two weeks in one part of town, with customers you know, shows you the problems while they're cheap: a booking that didn't reach the driver, a confirmation that didn't send, a pickup point nobody could find.
Test the whole chain on every soft-launch job. The booking, the confirmation, the driver getting the job, the payment and the record in your system should all work without someone fixing them by hand.
Then market in this order:
- Google Business Profile. Set it up under your real trading name. Google's guidelines say a service-area business should hide its address, and the business name mustn't carry extra keywords. Our Google Business Profile guide goes through each field.
- Your website. Put your fixed fares and a booking route on it. Our guide to a taxi website that gets bookings lists what to include.
- Local partners. Hotels, venues, pubs and offices that send you regular work are worth more than a leaflet drop. See hotel and venue partnerships.
- Paid ads last. Spend on adverts once you know you can cover the bookings they bring.
Measure weekly from the first soft-launch day. These numbers tell you whether the service works:
| Number | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Bookings a week | The headline: is it growing? |
| Calls and messages not answered | Each one is a booking you never saw |
| Quotes that didn't book | Your price or your wait time was wrong |
| Cancellations and no-shows | Drivers lose money and leave |
| Jobs per driver per shift | Too few and drivers drift to the apps |
| Repeat passengers | The best sign the service is good |
Our guide to the taxi business numbers to track explains how to count each one.
What goes wrong in the first 90 days?
The same handful of mistakes sink new ride services, and none of them is about the app. Watch for these:
- Spending on marketing before the operator licence is granted.
- Signing up drivers licensed by the wrong council, so you can't dispatch them on your own licence.
- Promising instant pickups across town with a handful of licensed drivers.
- Launching an app before the phone line is answered.
- Booking records that miss fields your licence conditions ask for.
There's a longer list in our guide to mistakes new taxi firms make.
Frequently asked questions
Can I start trading before my operator licence is granted?
No. Taking and sending out private hire bookings without an operator licence is an offence under section 46 of the 1976 Act. You can form the company, build the website, sign up drivers and set up your booking software while you wait, but don't take a paid booking until the licence is granted.
Do I need my own app to launch a ride service?
No. Passengers can book by phone, WhatsApp, text or on your website from day one, and your drivers can use the app that comes with your booking software. Build or license a passenger app once you know people will use it, and remember Apple's template rule means it goes out from your own developer account.
How many drivers do I need to launch?
Work it out from the hours you'll cover. Example: to keep two cars on the road from 7am to midnight, seven days a week, you need 2 cars × 17 hours × 7 days = 238 car-hours a week. With drivers doing 40 hours each, that's six drivers before holidays and sickness.
Can I use drivers licensed by another council?
Not on your own licence outside London. Your drivers and cars must hold the same council's licences as your operator licence. Under section 11 of the Deregulation Act 2015 you can sub-contract a booking to an operator licensed by another council, who then sends their own licensed driver and car.
How much do the licences and accounts cost?
Less than the cars, insurance and marketing. In Bristol, an operator licence is £356 for one year or £1,058 for five; a limited company costs £100 online; Apple charges US$99 a year and Google US$25 once. Driver and vehicle licences are on top, set by your council.
Sources
- Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1976, section 46 operating without licences
- Deregulation Act 2015, section 11 sub-contracting between operators
- Application for a private hire operator's licence (City of York Council, Licensing and Regulatory Committee, 11 June 2024) the triple licensing rule
- Apply for an operator licence (Bristol City Council) fees, requirements, up to 4 weeks
- Taxi and private hire fees (BCP Council)
- Private hire operator licence (Transport for London) fees by fleet size, up to 16 weeks
- Taxi and private hire licence fees, notice 05/26 (Transport for London, 13 March 2026) PHV driver licence £138 to apply and £205 on grant from 1 June 2026
- Private hire driver licence (Transport for London) requirements for new drivers
- Taxi and private hire vehicle statistics, England: 2026 (Department for Transport) figures at 1 April 2026
- Statutory Taxi and Private Hire Vehicle Standards (Department for Transport) section 8, operators
- Taxi and private hire vehicle licensing: best practice guidance (Department for Transport, updated 17 November 2023) paragraph 7.4, public liability insurance checks
- Register your company (GOV.UK) £100 online
- Data protection fee (Information Commissioner's Office)
- Enrollment (Apple Developer Support) US$99 a year, legal entity, D-U-N-S number and website for organisations
- App Review Guidelines, 4.2.6 (Apple)
- Register for a Google Play developer account (Google Play Console Help) US$25 fee
- Guidelines for representing your business on Google (Google Business Profile Help)
Checked 9 October 2026. Rules and fees change, so check with your licensing authority before you rely on a figure.